Tanzania Money: Part II (Coins-British Rule)

After the world war I in 1919, German East Africa was occupied by British and Belgian forces. In Tanganyika, the Rupie circulated alongside the British East African rupee, which had been in existence in Kenya and Uganda, until 1920 when both were replaced by the East African florin at par. The florin was divided into 100 cents. Coins were minted in denominations of 1, 5, 10, 25 and 50 cents and 1 florin but, according to the “Standard Catalog of World Coins” (C. L. Krause & C. Mishler, Krause Publications), the 50 cents coins were not released for circulation and only 30% of the 1, 5 and 10 cents coins produced were issued for circulation before the East African florin was replaced by the East African Shilling in 1921. One Shilling was equal to half a florin or equivalently one East African florin equaled two East African Shillings. Because of its short period in existence, few of the coins minted were actually issued and are consequently scarce today.  Unfortunately, I have not been able to get images of those coins.

The East African Shilling was decimalized into 100 cents. Coins were issued in denominations of 1 cent, 5 cents, 10 cents, 50 cents and the 1 Shilling. Coins of 1, 5 and 10 cents were holed bronze, while coins of 50 cents and 1 shilling were solid faced cupronickel. Of all coins in history of this country, these coins were the most stable in  design as they never changed for the whole period of over fourty years of british rule; they continued in circulation even after independence untill 1966. As the British rulers changed, the coin faces were also changed ro reflect the reigning British ruler without changing the coin design; coins with faces depicting past rulers continued in circulation. From the period from 1921 to 1936 when the British empire was ruled  by King George V, coin faces appeared as follows.

Bronze coins




After the death of King George V and the start of the rein of King Edward VIII, who ruled for a little less than a year from January 1936 to December 1936 before being abdicated from the throne for his controversial marriage to an American divorcee Wallis Simpson. Only bronze coins were released during his reign and were inscribed as follows.


King EdwardVIII was replaced by King George VI who ruled until his death in February 1952. During the reign of King George VI, two designs of coin faces were issued. Coins released in the period from 1936 to 1946 were inscribed GEORGIVS VI as shown in the following pictures.





After 1946,  coins were inscribed GEORGIVS SEXTVS as shown in the following picture.





King George VI died in 1952 leaving the throne to his daughter, the current Queen Elizabeth II. Coins released under the reign of Queen Elizabeth II were inscribed as shown in the following picture.





The back face of the coins never changed, all were as shown in the
following pictures.Back Bronze


Back Cupronickel


After independence, these coins continued in circulation as shown in the following picture.


However, in 1964 new coins were released without inscription of the British ruler. Typical coins released in 1964 were as shown in the following pictures.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: